A Time of Growth and Renewal

It has been awhile, a few weeks. OK, maybe it has been a few months since the last time I wrote. So much has happened. Going between in school learning to virtual at home learning (what ever that is, I still don’t know), back and forth and back again. Then there has been lockdowns, restrictions and quarantines. There are fears flying around, disappointments abound and reasons to stress at every turn. I have had moments that I have felt the pressure and stress pushing and pulling me down. It is easy to start to dwell on these moments and to focus on all the things that are going wrong all around me.

Looking back on this, I have started to realized a few things. One of the results of all this stress building up in my life is that the idea of planning out the meals for my family to eat became too much for me to handle. What happened next was not pretty. There ended up being a lot of dinners purchased from the freezer section of the Commissary or the Rewe, our favorite German market. This is not the way to reach my goal of healthy eating and losing weight! Or, the meals are pieced together, barely, from what I have in the freezer and pantry. This usually means it is not a fan favorite of the kids.

When I have achieved this level of stress I am not able to handle the normal everyday stresses of life. My thoughts are all over the place, focusing (or not) on things and feelings that are anything but encouraging. There is only one solution to pull me out of this downward spiral; God and his Word. Isn’t it amazing how God’s word thinks things out more perfectly than I ever could ever think or imagine?!

The ladies at church started through a study of the book of Ephesians at the beginning of this COVID pandemic. In the first three chapters of Ephesians the Apostle Paul is so excited to share with the church how rich they are in Christ, no matter the circumstances they find themselves in. As believers we HAVE so many incredible ever present blessings. As in currently, right now. And Paul is not just being hopeful. This hope is a hope beyond ‘hoping this maybe will happen.’ Paul has the hope we all have in Christ, which is a hope that is guaranteed. Paul says in Ephesians that as a believer I have in my possession incredible blessings.

For a little perspective on how much Paul believes what he is saying: He is writing this letter to the church in Ephesus from prison. Paul is able be joyful (if you need more on Paul’s joy that you can have too, read Philippians) no matter what is happening to him. Here he is in a pretty dire situation. If there is anyone in the course of history that would know what it feels like to live the best life has to offer and also the absolute worst this world can dish out, it is Paul. Paul tells us his secret of a life full of joy, peace, confidence and so much more.

The secret is that Paul understands and knows who he is and his position in Jesus Christ. There are so many truths that I need to be reminded of over and over again. The secrets that Paul reveals are not meant to be kept secret. Paul revealed these secrets to the Ephesian believers, and God wants each of us to know these secrets deep in our hearts. Chapter three of Ephesians ends with Paul’s second prayer. He sums up why he wants each of us to grasp these truths.

For this cause I bow my knees unto the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, of whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named, that he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man; that Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length and depth, and height; and to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God. Now to him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us, unto him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus throughout all ages world without end. Amen.

Ephesians 3:14-21

Nine times Paul calls the Ephesian believers saints. Did you catch that? You and I are saints! As a believer in Christ, God sees me as a saint! A saint is not just a hero of the faith who did great things for God in the past. I am called by God to be set apart. I was once dead in my sins, but now I am raised up to sit in the heavenly places with Christ (Ephesians 2:4-6). This gives me a purpose and a goal to live for. Ephesians 2:10 says, “For we are his workmanship created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.” I am called to be different, to live a different life, have a different perspective and worldview.

Another part of the secret is found at the beginning of Ephesians 2:14, “For he is our peace…” Several times in the last few months I have lost sight of this. Paul says in Philippians 4:7, “And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” This is not something that the world can comprehend. As a believer who has been blessed with, “…all spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ (Ephesians 1:3)”, I have full access to the peace of God! This means I can have peace when there is chaos all around me. It is a peace and calm of heart and mind that comes from the realization that I am not in control and I do not have the answers. God is in control, and I have faith that he is a good God who loves me and does have the answer.

I will point out one more part of Paul’s secret to you. It is the the fact that I can know God in a personal and intimate way. Because of the work of Christ I can have direct access to God! This is incredible. Do I really grasp this blessing? I do not need a priest or ritual in order to bring a request before God. Grab ahold of this! I can go boldly to the throne room of God! The creator of all things wants to hear from me. The result is that I can have hope (Ephesians 1:17-18). This is a hope that is sure. Thankfully this is a hope that is not dependent on my power, it is found in Jesus Christ. Our hope is found in the exceeding greatness of his power and the working of his mighty power (Ephesians 1:19). This is something I have at times forgotten. I have tried to hold on to a hope that is found in my own power and strength. This kind of hope is weak at best. When I cling to the hope that is found in God’s power and strength this hope will not disappoint.

There is so much to be found in Ephesians! These things I have pointed out are only scratching the surface of what Paul wants each of us to know in the book of Ephesians. Each and every believer (or saint) is so rich, so blessed, if only we can really lay ahold of them and truly believe. What a deep and joyful life each of us to could have. These are riches and blessings that do not change with the ups and downs of our physical, financial or emotional well being. Even when I experience the worst I can be confidant that God and his character has not changed. It is the power of God!

I am determined to regain my love of cooking, and for the food I make to be nourishing for my family. For this to happen I need a different perspective. I need to remember that I do not need to be perfect in my culinary creations. When a meal does not work exactly how I want it to, I do not need to be upset and believe I am a failure. This has happened a few times in the last couple months.

One of the reasons I love to cook and bake is to bring a smile to the faces of people I love. I want them to know that they are important to me. I need to remember that the people that love me do not require me to be perfect. I need to remember why I value the time I spend in the kitchen. It is to create food, no matter how simple or elaborate, that will bring enjoyment, time together and nourishment to my friends and family.

As I look back at the last about nine months I can tell that there were times when my focus was not on Jesus Christ. I lost my grasp of the truths of who I am in Christ, my position in Christ and my possessions in Christ. The truth is I am rich. I am blessed beyond measure. Most of all I have a Lord and Savior who loves me and cares for me. The secrets Paul has to tell should not be secrets to those of us who believe. We should not keep the secrets, share them with the world!

One Comment Add yours

  1. shannon filonczuk says:

    Very well done.

    Like

Leave a comment